EU Funding in Northern Ireland

EU The EU works with national and regional authorities to deliver funding through five main funds Structural and Investment funds to implement the Europe 2020 Strategy. Budgets are set for for periods of 7 years:

European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) – regional and urban development
European Social Fund (ESF) – social inclusion and good governance
Cohesion Fund (CF) – economic convergence by less-developed regions
European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD)
European Maritime and Fisheries Fund (EMFF)
more about how EU funding operates…

Contact details for the 2014-20 Funding Programmes:

European Social Fund (ESF) (205.2 million Euro) aims to combat poverty and enhance social inclusion by reducing economic inactivity and to increase the skills base of those currently in work and future potential participants in the workforce.

ERDF Investment for Growth & Jobs Programme for NI (308 million Euro)

Common Agricultural Policy (2,299m Euro): Direct payment (Pillar 1) (EAGGF) the Dept of Agriculture and Rural Development
Common Agricultural Policy (228m Euro) Rural Development Programme (Pillar II) (EAGGF) Dept of Agriculture and Rural Development
The Dept of Agriculture and Rural Development is now known as The Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs (DAERA)

European Fisheries Fund (23.5m Euro) aim to provide financial support for the fisheries sector

INTERREG Programme promotes transnational and interregional cooperation and INTERREG IVA and VA are joint Northern Ireland/ Republic of Ireland/ Scotland allocations.
INTERREG VA (240.3 million Euro)

PEACE Programme (229.1 million Euro)
The EU Programme for Peace and Reconciliation is a unique Structural Funds programme aimed at reinforcing progress towards a peaceful and stable society in Northern Ireland and the Border Region